top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Bridal bouquet: 5 quick tips to keep it unique

I love designing bridal bouquets, they are by far my favorite of all floral designs to do! A bride's bouquet should be unique from all of the other pieces in a wedding, it should stand out - just like the beautiful show-stopping bride.

When doing a consultation with a bride it is important for me to know what her favorite flowers are other than roses. I want her bouquet to be a collection of all of her favorites so she feels her bouquet is an extension of her.

This is one of my best friend's bouquets that she had me design for her, unlike me she knew more about the colors and textures she wanted in her bouquet. She wanted her bouquet to be as bright as her personality! I love the dark and hot pinks mixed with purples and oranges. The deep purple flower in the middle of this design is called a protea or sugarbush. The protea's made me think of how unique her personality is and the textures of this flower are divine with soft centers and sharp edges.


In my own bouquet for my wedding I really wanted my favorite flower: bachelor's buttons or cornflower. I love how blue and bright these flowers are and the unique star shaped ray flowers (petals). Besides these blue beauties I also love peonies and gerbera daisies. Both of these flowers showcase my love for elegance and also bright pops of colors. I also love the childlike simplicity in daisies and cornflowers, they give the idea of being gathered around the mountain's meadows.

Now to the tips! Here is 5 simple and easy tips to get that unique design you are looking for:

TIP ONE - Search Pinterest! There are tons of talented people in the floral world and they can use unique flowers that your local area may not see often. Along with finding new flowers you can also find unique designs that give your bouquet a fun shape.

TIP TWO - Know what colors you want. Colors can help you narrow down flowers that can give you those pops you are really looking for. You can search online for flowers that come in those natural colors so your bouquet looks natural instead of fake and tacky.

TIP THREE - Figure out what shape you want your bouquet to take. Most people have a round ball like bouquet but doing something outside the status quo can help express your own personal design style.

TIP FOUR - Understand what extra accessories you'd want to showcase in your bouquet. Do you like sparkles? Ask for diamonds to be implanted in your bouquet or sprinkle some glitter for that extra shine! Do you like ribbon? Lace? Let your florist know!

TIP FIVE - Enjoy designing your bouquet but don't overwhelm yourself with the details. Find a florist that will be able to make your dreams come true so you can focus on your special day!

With these tips we hope your day and your bouquet will be as special as you are!

bottom of page